Type of office

Which office design is the right one?

Individual, open-plan and group offices — every design has its own strengths and weaknesses. We’ve put together a short overview for you to show what purposes each office design is best suited for.


Cellular office

Examples of single and multi-person offices
Examples of single and multi-person offices Lupe_grau

'As a rule, cellular offices are arranged along a building’s outer wall as individual or multi-person offices and are accessible via a shared corridor. Multi-person offices usually consist of up to six desk or visual display unit (VDU) workplaces.” (Definition by ASR A1.2)

Individual offices are especially suited for activities that require a high degree of confidentiality or especially intense concentration. Multi-person offices are optimal if a working group cooperates closely and if individuals need to quickly step in for one another whenever it’s necessary.


Status quo in Germany

In 2015, 58% of all employees worked in an office for one or two people, 28% worked in small group offices for 3 to 8 people, 8% in larger group offices for up to 24 people, and 5% in open-plan offices.

Source: IBA/bso study 2015


Group office

Group office combined with multi-person and individual offices
Group office combined with multi-person and individual offices Lupe_grau

'Group offices are spatial units that are provided to create up to 25 desk or VDU workplaces, as a rule. They are close to windows and are clearly separated from one another by means of partition walls or flexible space-structuring systems.' (Definition by ASR A1.2)

Like multi-person offices, group offices are also ideal for teams that cooperate closely and for organizations in which the possibility to quickly step in for one another is important. However, these spaces are less suitable for concentrated individual work.


Combi office

Combi office with cubicles for one or two persons
Combi office with cubicles for one or two persons Lupe_grau

'As a rule, combi offices consist of a mix of a cubicle office and an open-plan office. Each work cubicle is generally occupied by one employee, and the cubicles are arranged around a common area that includes discussion corners, filing departments, service areas, kitchenettes etc. The cubicles are connected to the common area by glass walls and doors.' (Definition by ASR A1.2)

Combi offices are especially suitable for companies in which a large proportion of the activities consists of concentrated individual work, but which also require lots of space for (spontaneous) communication.


If you are considering combining several small rooms into a larger office unit, you should pay attention not only to the building’s statics but also to the height of the rooms. The rooms should have the following heights:

  • at least 2.50 m for floor space up to 50 m²
  • at least 2.75 m for space over 50 m²
  • at least 3.00 m for space over 100 m²
  • at least 3.25 m for space over 2,000 m²

Source: ASR A1.2. You can find more information about this technical rule in the chapter on Area Planning.


Open-Plan Office

Open plan office with meeting room and communication zones
Open plan office with meeting room and communication zones Lupe_grau

'Open-plan offices are organizational and spatial combinations of office or VDU workplaces on a floor space of 400 m2 or more that can be divided up by means of partition walls.' (Definition by ASR A1.2)

Traditional open-plan offices are especially suited for companies that are characterized by very dynamic organizational change.


Modern Open-plan office

> for more examples see expert pages
> for more examples see expert pages Lupe_grau

Modern Open-plan designs (open spaces) are not an independent kind of space design but a combination of various office types. They combine different kinds of work and communication zones and thus enable employees to choose the work or common-room area that is the best setting for their current activities.


infobox

Work in office settings is often combined with non-territorial work. In other words, all or some of the employees have given up the idea of working at a fixed workplace. The advantage of this arrangement for the employer is that he has to provide fewer workplaces, because there will be fewer empty workplaces as a result of business trips, participation in meetings or vacation time. The advantage for the employees is that they can use vacated areas to structure a variety of working environments for themselves.

Büroformen

Welche Büroform ist die Richtige?

Einzelbüros, Open Space, Gruppenbüro – jede Raumform hat ihre eigenen Stärken und Schwächen. Wir haben für Sie einen kurzen Überblick zusammengestellt, wofür sich die einzelnen Raumformen am besten eignen.


Zellenbüro

Beispiele Einzel- und Mehrpersonenbüros
Beispiele Einzel- und Mehrpersonenbüros Lupe_grau

„Zellenbüros sind als Einzel- oder Mehrpersonenbüros in der Regel entlang der Fassade angeordnet und über einen gemeinsamen Flur zugänglich. Mehrpersonenbüros umfassen in der Regel bis sechs Büro- oder Bildschirmarbeitsplätze.” (Definition gemäß ASR A1.2)

Einzelbüros sind besonders für Tätigkeiten geeignet, die ein hohes Maß an Vertraulichkeit oder besondere Konzentration erfordern. Mehrpersonenbüros sind optimal, wenn eine Arbeitsgruppe eng zusammenarbeitet und bei Bedarf eine schnelle, gegenseitige Vertretung möglich sein muss.


Status quo in Deutschland

Im Jahr 2015 arbeiteten 58 % aller Beschäftigten in einem Einzel- oder Zweierbüro, 28 % in kleinen Gruppenbüros für 3 – 8 Personen, 8 % in größeren Gruppenbüros für bis zu 24 Personen und 5 % in Open Spaces oder Großraumbüros.

Quelle: IBA-/bso-Studie 2015


Gruppenbüro

Gruppenbüro mit Mehrpersonen- und Einzelbüros
Gruppenbüro mit Mehrpersonen- und Einzelbüros Lupe_grau

Gruppenbüros sind für die Einrichtung von in der Regel bis zu 25 Büro- oder Bildschirmarbeitsplätzen vorgesehene fensternahe Raumeinheiten, die mit Stellwänden oder flexiblen Raumgliederungssystemen deutlich voneinander abgegrenzt werden.” (Definition gemäß ASR A1.2)

Wie die Mehrpersonenbüros sind auch die Gruppenbüros ideal, wenn Teams eng zusammenarbeiten und die gegenseitige Vertretung eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Für individuelles, konzentriertes Arbeiten sind diese Räume dagegen weniger geeignet.


Kombibüro

Kombibüro mit Einzel- und Zweierzellen
Kombibüro mit Einzel- und Zweierzellen Lupe_grau

Kombibüros sind in der Regel Kombinationen aus Zellenbüro und Großraumbüro. Die ‘Arbeitskojen’ sind in der Regel mit je einem Beschäftigten besetzt, um einen Gemeinschaftsraum mit Besprechungsecken, Registraturen, Serviceeinrichtungen, Teeküchen u. a. gruppiert und durch Glaswände und -türen mit dem Gemeinschaftsraum verbunden.” (Definition gemäß ASR A1.2)

Kombibüros eignen sich besonders für Unternehmen, in denen ein großer Teil der Tätigkeiten in konzentrierter Einzelarbeit erfolgt, die aber auch viel Platz für (spontane) Kommunikation benötigen.


Falls Sie erwägen, mehrere kleine Räume zu einer größeren Büroeinheit zusammenzufassen, sollten Sie nicht nur auf die Statik des Gebäudes, sondern auch auf die Raumhöhen achten. Folgende Raumhöhen sind einzuhalten:

  • bei bis zu 50 m² Grundfläche mindestens 2,50 m
  • bei mehr als 50 m² mindestens 2,75 m
  • bei mehr als 100 m² mindestens 3,00 m
  • bei mehr als 2.000 m² mindestens 3,25 m

Quelle: ASR A1.2. Mehr Informationen zu dieser Technischen Regel finden Sie im Kapitel Flächenplanung.


Großraumbüro

Großraumbüro mit Besprechungsraum und Kommunikationszonen
Großraumbüro mit Besprechungsraum und Kommunikationszonen Lupe_grau

Großraumbüros sind organisatorische und räumliche Zusammenfassungen von Büro- oder Bildschirmarbeitsplätzen auf einer 400 m² oder mehr umfassenden Grundfläche, die mit Stellwänden gegliedert sein können.” (Definition gemäß ASR A1.2)

Großraumbüros eignen sich besonders für Unternehmen mit einer hohen organisatorischen Veränderungsdynamik.


Open Space

Weitere Beispiele siehe Expertenseiten
Weitere Beispiele siehe Expertenseiten Lupe_grau

Offene Bürolandschaften (Open Space) sind keine eigenständige Raumform, sondern eine Kombination verschiedener Büroformen. Sie kombinieren unterschiedliche Arbeits- und Kommunikationszonen und ermöglichen den Beschäftigten somit, sich jeweils für den Arbeits- oder Aufenthaltsbereich zu entscheiden, der das beste Umfeld für die aktuellen Tätigkeiten darstellt.


infobox

Arbeiten in Bürolandschaften wird häufig mit non-territorialem Arbeiten kombiniert. Das bedeutet, dass alle oder ein Teil der Beschäftigten auf einen fest zugewiesenen Arbeitsplatz verzichten. Der Vorteil für den Arbeitgeber besteht darin, dass er weniger Arbeitsplätze zur Verfügung stellen muss, weil Leerstände infolge von Dienstreisen, Teilnahme an Besprechungen oder Urlaub verringert werden. Der Vorteil für die Beschäftigten liegt in der Möglichkeit, die frei werdende Fläche für eine abwechslungsreiche Gestaltung des Arbeitsumfeldes zu nutzen.